ASCSN elect officers

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Association of Senior Civil Servants of Nigeria (ASCSN), Information Unit, Abuja, elected officers to pilot affairs on the association for the next four years. ASCSN members are made up of employees from level Grade level 7 and above. The unit comprises of every staff working in the Radio House (Ministry of Information staff). The executive comprises of five officials; Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and an ex-officio.
The election proper was preceded by accreditation of electorates, mostly registered members of the association. The former executive was dissolved by the chairman of electoral committee before voting started. Voting lasted for over one hour and collation of results followed. Counting of votes for each contested position lasted for about 45min. before the winners were announced by the returning officer.
A total number of 352 voters were accredited for the election voting started. Three persons contested for the position of treasurer. The incumbent polled 77votes; Adesanya Adebayo polled 102 votes, while the winner Comrade Ogueri Theresa polled 146 votes. Out of the two persons that contested for the position of secretary, Onasanya Henry polled 81 votes while the winner, Comrade Olunuga Olufemi polled 248 votes. Two persons vied for the post of Vice Chairman; Ayedero Ayomide got 154 votes and the winner Comrade Jegede B. Olugbenga got 172 votes. The position of ex-officio was unopposed and it went Comrade Ukachukwu Chika. The chairmanship position was a straight fight between the incumbent secretary who got 110 votes and the winner Comrade Ogwola Abam who polled 216 votes.
The incumbent chairman was visibly absent at the event that lasted for over four hours. Speaking to our correspondent after the election, the newly elected Chairman Comrade Ogwola Adam promised that his team will lead the association based on their electioneering manifesto thus: Promotion as and when due; Training as motivation; Payment of arrears; Provision of prototype housing accommodation working with a developer; and transparency.
The newly elected officers will assume office immediately and lead their colleagues to the May Day Rally, on 1st  May 2014.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s